Regional Awards Nominations Open!

Help us recognize the people who make an impact in the New River Valley! We need you to nominate worthy candidates for this year’s awards program. The Commission is accepting nominations for our regional awards until March 13th. Award recipients will be honored at the Commission’s Annual Dinner in May 2020. Please click on the links below to nominate candidates for Champion of the Valley (elected/appointed official), Citizen of the Valley, and Friend of the Valley (outside the region).

Champion of the Valley-Elected/Appointed Official (nominate here)
Previous award recipients include:
2014 Mr. Joseph Sheffey, Pulaski County Board of Supervisors, retired

2015 Mr. Rick Boucher, U.S. House of Representatives 1983-2011

2016 Delegate Joseph Yost, 12th House District of Virginia 2012-2018

2016 Mr. William Brown, Montgomery County Board of Supervisors, retired

2017 Mr. Chris McKlarney, Giles County Administrator

2018 Ms. Susan Kidd, Town of Narrows

2019 Delegate Nick Rush, 7th House District in Virginia

Citizen of the Valley (nominate here)

2014 Dr. Charles Steger, Virginia Tech President

2015 Mr. Ken Anderson, CEO, Anderson & Associates, Inc.

2016 Ms. Penelope Kyle, JD, Radford University President

2017 Mr. Woody Crenshaw, Floyd County Entrepreneur

2018 Mr. David Hagan, Business Owner/Investor

2018 Ms. P. Buckley Moss, Artist/Philanthropist

2019 Mr. Raymond Smoot, Community Leader

Friend of the Valley (nominate here)

2016 Mary Moody Northen Foundation, Mountain Lake Lodge

2017 Mr. Bill Shelton, Director of the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development

2019 Mr. John Smolak, III, Appalachian Power

Share this story!