NRCA Elects New Officers

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

NRCA Elects New Officers 3NRCA Elects New Officers 4New River Community Action, Inc. (NRCA) Board of Directors elected officers at their annual Board meeting on July 15, 2021.  The Board elected Mr. John McEnhill to serve as the Board Chairperson for the fiscal year 2021/22.  Ms. Kim Fernandez was elected Vice-Chair and Mr. Joseph Guthrie was elected Secretary/Treasurer.  As officers for the Board, they also serve on the Board’s Executive Committee.

Mr. John McEnhill is the Floyd government representative to the Board appointed by Floyd County Board of Supervisors.  Mr. McEnhill has served on the NRCA Board of Directors since June 2002 and has been Chair of the Board since 2012.  He currently serves as Executive Director for the Floyd County Chamber of Commerce and volunteers many hours each month for several NRCA Board committees and special projects.

NRCA Elects New Officers 5
Kim Fernandez, Vice-Chair

Ms. Fernandez has served on the NRCA Board since 2019 and is a representative of Montgomery County.  She is a veteran of the United States Navy and has degrees in Human Services and Early Childhood Education. Ms. Fernandez also serves on the Board’s Membership, Program Planning and Evaluation, and Executive Committees.

NRCA Elects New Officers 6
Joseph Guthrie, Secretary/Treasurer

Mr. Joseph Guthrie is Pulaski County’s government representative to the Board appointed by Pulaski County Board of Supervisors.   Mr. Guthrie has served on the NRCA Board since May 2020.  As Secretary/Treasurer, Mr. Guthrie also serves as the Chair for the Board’s Finance Committee.  Joseph Guthrie is Chair for the Pulaski County Board of Supervisors and a Virginia Tech Senior Instructor.

The 2021-22 Board of Directors also includes Sarah Greene from Floyd County; Kelly Patton, Melissa Dodson, and Corbin Vierling from Giles County; Aline Brinckman and Tonia Winn from Montgomery County; Elaine Powell Hawkins and Serena Ming from Pulaski County; Michael Grigsby, Linda Baylor, and Gina Rhea from the City of Radford.  Dr. Boyoung Park is an ex-officio member with expertise in Early Childhood Education.  Tina Lindsey and Lee Simpkins also serve as ex-officio members from Radford. Ms. Krystal Thompson is the Board’s Chief Executive Officer.

NRCA Elects New Officers 7
Back row, L to R: Joe Guthrie, John McEnhill, Boyoung Park, Aline Brinckman, Lee Simpkins, Melissa Dodson, Linda Baylor, Serena Ming, Kim Fernandez, Michael Grigsby, Tonia Winn
Seated, L to R: Kelly Patton, Elaine Powell Hawkins, Tina Lindsey, Gina Rhea, Sarah Greene.

New River Community Action (NRCA) has been a well-known proponent of self-sufficiency in the New River Valley of Virginia since 1965.   The agency partners with community groups to address local conditions of poverty, assisting the area’s most vulnerable residents including the homeless and ex-offenders.  NRCA also offers programs to low-income families with young children to promote school readiness, healthy families, and effective parenting.    NRCA serves about 9,000 New River Valley residents each year.   For more information about NRCA, visit