Marie March wins Firehouse Primary in Landslide

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Marie March was announced the winner of the Firehouse Primary by Gene Bishop, Chairman of the 7th Legislative District Committee.

March won with greater than expected turn out with long lines and busy poll workers on a rainy day. March took 54% of the vote with second place Sherri M. Blevins with 26% and third was Lowell Bowman at 20%. Total Votes was 2561 Votes. Floyd County with 739 total votes was carried by March with 554 votes. Montgomery County with 859 total votes went to Blevins with 376 votes. Pulaski County with 963 total votes went to March with 528 votes.

Bishop stated “excitement about this race was high with three very able candidates who all ran good campaigns. This turnout was a record setter for a primary.” The 7th legislative district is all of Floyd County, parts of Montgomery and Pulaski County. Marie March is the official Republican Nominee and will be on the November 2, 2021 general election ballot for the 7th District House of Delegates seat currently held by Delegate Nick Rush who decided to not seek re-election after serving 10 years.